National Awards 2019 Shortlist

Best Television Documentary Feature

Jupurrurla - Man of Media - Josef Jakamarra Egger

She Who Must Be Loved - Erica Glynn & Tanith Glynn-Maloney

Saving Seagrass - Jodie Bell, Gary Hamaguchi and Bessy-May Taylor

Pitch Black Aboriginal Broadcasting - Dr Donna Odegaard


Best Feature Radio Documentary or Series

The Coniston Massacre - Dennis Charles

The Real Podcast - 33 Creative


Best Community Television Documentary

Karnage and Darkness - Christopher Fitzpatrick

Striking Pearls - Sylvia Tabua

Jade Runner - Nevanka McKeon

The Songman - Renee Ngandawarrkirr Wilson


Best Language/Culture Production

Woonyoomboo The Night Heron - Annie Nayina Milgin, John Darraga Watson, Jarlmadangah Burru Community School Students

First Time Home - Kimberley Benjamin & Jodie Bell

Ancient Languages Project - Joy Bulkanhawuy Dhamarrandji, Yirriṉiṉba Miriam Dhurrkay, Hannah Harper, Djimbuluku Joanne Dhurrkay, Bananaki Roselie Yunupiŋu, Andrew Grimes & Gawura Wanambi

Governance Video - PAW Media


Best News or Current Affairs Program

The Point - NITV

Strong Voices - CAAMA

Moorditj Mag - RTR FM

Ngaarda Breakfast Program - Ngaarda Media


Best News or Current Affairs Story

Special Sorry Day Broadcast - RTR FM

Coniston Massacre - PAW Media

Parnpinjinya Homes Demolished - Ngaarda Media

The Point - NITV


Best Sports Coverage

60 Years of Yuendumu Sports Weekends - PAW Media

CAFL season from Traeger Park - ICTV

NSW Rugby League Koori Knockout - NITV


Best Interview or Oral History

Joe Williams interview - Karla Grant, Mark Bannerman, Ross Turner & James Falconer Marshall

Moorditj Mag - Jim Morrison & Nick Abraham

Homelessness - Living Black, NITV

Jandamarra Cadd interview - Chris Crebbin


Best Photography Award

First All Female Ranger Group - Wayne Quilliam

Mother's Baby Bump - Ngaarda Media


Best Promo or Station ID

The Victoria Hotel - Ngaarda Media

Safe Mobile Use CSA - PAW Media


Best Promo or Campaign

RUOK? - 33 Creative

Survival Day, Invasion Day, Australia Day - Belinda Larymore, Adam Manovic, Jeremy Worrall & Eva Bridie, NITV

Kimberley Aboriginal Suicide Prevention Trail Site project - Jodie Bell, Dot West, Kimberley West & Gary Hamaguchi, Goolarri Media

Power & Water campaign about the danger of fallen power lines - Jason Japaljarri Woods


Best Digital Product

Thalu: Dreamtime Is Now - Tyson Mowarin

Waringarri Radio 6WR - Waringarri Media

Virtual Whadjuk - Brett Leavy

inLanguage - ICTV


Best Training and Professional Development

Festival of Remote Australian Indigenous Moving Image (FRAIM) - ICTV

Upskilling Media Workers - Goolarri Media


Best Drama or Comedy

Never Stop Riding - Iwantja Arts

Best Music Video

Barkly Drifters - William Thomson

Let Us Stand Together - Barkly Arts