Major Awards


Preston Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Preston Award was inaugurated and presented to PAKAM at the 2003 BRACS Festival (hosted in Darwin by TEABBA), in recognition of one of our pioneers, Mr Nooley Preston. Nooley was a founder broadcaster at Wangki Yupurnanupurru Radio in Fitzroy Crossing and trained for the BRACS Certificate at Batchelor in the first years of the course. He was a tireless and beloved champion of Remote Community Media.

John Macumba Indigenous Media Operator of the Year Award

The John Macumba Indigenous Media Operator of the Year Award was inaugurated by CAAMA in 2011, in memory of John Macumba, one of the pioneers of Indigenous media in Australia, who passed away in 2010. “As a radio broadcaster in Alice Springs in the late 1970s, he was one of the first Aboriginal voices on the public airwaves. He was the prime mover behind the establishment of CAAMA in 1981-82, and then - as a consultant under contract to the ABC - he went on to set up Umeewarra Media in Port Augusta in 1989. John was a member of the Ministerial Task Force on Remote Broadcasting in 1982 and a consultant to the Dix Committee's Review of Public Broadcasting in the same year. He was the Founding Chairman of the National Aboriginal and Islander Broadcasting Association (NAIBA), which was the forerunner to the National Indigenous Media Association of Australia (NIMAA).” This Award is sponsored by CAAMA. Purpose and eligibility: This award recognises a consistent, engaging and productive broadcaster or media operator working in a remote RIBS community.

Mr Garawirrtja Award for Contribution to Media, Entertainment and the Arts

The Mr Garawirrtja Memorial Award for Contribution to Media, Entertainment and the Arts was inaugurated by TEABBA in honour of Mr Garrawirrtja, a founding member of TEABBA 1989. He contributed 20 years of dedicated service to TEABBA and the Indigenous multimedia industry both remotely and nationally. His involvement in the industry has been nationally recognised for his contributions to dance, music and media; and by being one of Australia’s best BRACS/RIBS Broadcasters. He participated in many local and national Indigenous incentives, Australian Olympics Indigenous broadcast, Garma Festival, Barunga Festival as well as the NT Indigenous Media Awards. He promoted and participated with bands from the Galiwinku Community, Elcho Island and East Arnhem Land. These include United in One (gospel) and the Soft Sands. Mr Garrawirrtja has worldwide recognition and is respected as a role model and leader for his enthusiastic and passionate work in the Indigenous multimedia industry. He is also known for his film contributions to the Yarning Up Series, by introducing the very popular Chooky Dancers. 


Steven McGregor Award for Best Emerging Talent in Film/Television

The Steve McGregor Award for Best Emerging Talent in Film/Television was inaugurated at the TEABBA hosted National Remote Indigenous Media Festival in 2009. Steven McGregor worked in the film industry from his late teens. Starting at the NT Chief Minister’s Media Unit, he went on Imparja Television a traineeship with CAAMA, and a Masters in Drama Directing with the Australian Film, Television and Radio School in Sydney. Since the mid 1990s Steven has written, directed and produced many award-winning documentaries and short stories, including Cold Turkey and Five Seasons. Other achievements to his credit have been contributing efforts in Apekathe, Arafura Pearl, D-Evolution, Grey, Merrepen, My Colour Your Kind, Nganampa Anwernekenhe, Marn-Grook, Shellie Morris Swept Away, The Watchers, Willaberta Jack, Willigan’s Fitzroy, Tiwi bombers documentary, In a League of Their Own, to the Baz Luhrmann’s movie Australia, Croker Island Exodus, Redfern Now, Pretty Boy Blue winning AACTA Best Screenplay in Television. Steven has provided major support as Director mentor for several of TEABBA’s Yarning Up series and provided professional development for TEABBA staff and network. 


Mr McKenzie Award

The Mr McKenzie Memorial Award for Best Contribution to remote Indigenous Television was inaugurated by PY Media and is now managed by ICTV. This Award honours the memory of Kunmanara McKenzie and his outstanding work at EVTV and PY Media. It is presented to the organisation or individual who has made an outstanding contribution to remote television over the previous year. 



Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually in recognition of lifetime achievement and dedication to the development of the national First Nations media industry. It recognises an individual who has played, or continues to play, a significant leadership and/or development role.


First Nations Outstanding Contributor Award

The Outstanding Contributor Award is presented annually to an active media practitioner who, through their work, has made a significant contribution to their organisation, community or to the development of the national First Nations media industry. Their contribution can be in one or more fields - broadcasting, production, leadership, management, training, technical innovation or other activities relating to the First Nations media industry. This is to recognise the unsung heroes working in our industry. The nominee is an individual who is currently working in the First Nations media Industry.


First Nations Media Legend Award

This award is to acknowledge a pioneer who contributed to the development of the national First Nations media industry. It differs from the Lifetime Achievement and Outstanding Contributor Award by acknowledging someone, either living or passed, who played an important role in the formation and growth of the industry but is no longer actively involved. Nominations may include people who have passed.